Preservation Resources

Preservation Guides

Extensive preservation guides created by the Library of Congress and Austin History Center can help you manage your personal archive. You can find those guides at:

 

Local Vendors for Archival Supplies and Storage

Paper Place 4001 N. Lamar Suite 540 Austin, TX 78756 512-451-6531 http://www.paperplaceaustin.com/

Jerry’s Artarama 6010 North IH 35 Austin, Texas 78753 phone: 512-420-9359 https://www.jerrysretailstores.com/austin-tx/

Precision Camera 2438 W. Anderson Lane Austin, TX 78757 512-467-7676 / 800-677-1023 http://www.precision-camera.com

Local Digitization Vendors

Access Video & Photo (film, video tapes, audio tapes, slides) http://www.accessvideophoto.com/index.html

Dub King (film, video tapes, photos, audio tapes) http://www.dubking.com/

Holland Photo Imaging (digital photo restoration) http://www.hollandphoto.com/

Texas Archive of the Moving Image (film) http://www.texasarchive.org/

Local Conservators Directory

http://www.hrc.utexas.edu/conservation/resources/directory/

National Vendors for Archival Supplies and Storage

Conservation Resources International http://www.conservationresources.com/

Gaylord Archival http://www.gaylord.com/

Hollinger Metal Edge https://www.hollingermetaledge.com/

Light Impressions http://www.lightimpressionsdirect.com/

University Products https://www.universityproducts.com/

Web Archiving Software 

To learn more about web archiving tools: http://netpreserve.org/web-archiving/tools-and-software/ 

Donating Your Archive

IF YOU WANT TO DONATE YOUR RECORDS TO AN ARCHIVES, WHAT SHOULD YOU DO?

Archivists are experts in identifying materials that should be transferred to an archival repository or manuscript library. Because the research value of records may be diminished if items are removed or if the records are rearranged, donors are encouraged to contact the repository staff before weeding, discarding, or reorganizing their papers and other records.

WHY DO YOU WANT TO KEEP YOUR RECORDS FOREVER?

What are your goals? Who are you saving your records for – your organization’s members now; your organization’s members in the future; your community; or historical researchers?

WHICH RECORDS ARE WORTH KEEPING FOR POSTERITY?

Appraise your records. Consider what types of materials to save and the importance of their content to the organization.

HOW SHOULD YOU ORGANIZE WHAT YOU KEEP?

Whenever possible, arrange and file the records in the order in which they were originally created, maintained, and used, not according to any artificial or arbitrary arrangement.

If you have questions, contact an archivist in your area. Information about local archival repositories can be found here: http://www.austinarchivesbazaar.org/archives

 

 

 

 

 

 

Powered by Khore by Showthemes